Back to Blog

Welcome to our 2015 OELMA Board of Directors!

I have been hearing many advertisements lately about “a new year, new you” and with a new year comes a new OELMA Board of Directors, which the OELMA membership has elected. I would like to take a moment and thank our new leadership in OELMA for rising to the challenge and making the effort to step up and take action as a leader at the state level. It is not an easy task to say YES when asked to take a leadership role but we need librarians who are willing to be the voice of their regions and step up to help us all work together, as one. We are all stretched very thin in our schools and time is something we never enough of, but thanks to those serving on this year’s OELMA Board, we hope to help make school librarians’ lives a little more insightful, innovative, and resourceful. We are all in this together and if we all use our voices, we have one mighty sound!

The following OELMA leaders will be stepping up this year to help plan professional development, advocate for the profession (we need it now more than ever), as well as be your voice at the state level at our Board Meetings. Please be sure to thank them personally if you see them at our upcoming EduConferences this year, local professional development, or just out and about! Without them and their sacrifices of time and energy, OELMA would not be OELMA!

Executive Committee:

Liz Deskins, Hilliary City Schools-Vice President

Susan Yutzey, “Retired”-Past President

Karen Gedeon, Cuyahoga Falls City School-Secretary

Lisa Barnes Prince, Akron Public Schools-Treasurer


Central Region:

Liz Bode, South-Western City Schools

Brandi Young, INFOhio


East Region:

Kris Baker, Field Local Schools

Lisa Garrison, Seton Catholic School


Northeast Region:

Lori Guerrini, Chagrin Falls High School

Michelle Smart, Hudson City Schools


Northwest Region:

Connie Carnicom, Fostoria High School

Cynthia Van Wey, Anthony Wayne Schools


South Region:

Rebecca Vasilakis, Eastland/Fairfield Career and Technical Center

Karen George, Pickerington HS Central


West Region:

Winnie Milner, Warren Career Center

Krista Guy, Dayton Public Schools


Spectrum Editor-Mark Tuel, Mount Vernon City Schools