Back to Blog

Spreading the Library Love with OELMA Awards & Scholarships

Happy February, OELMA!  Won’t you join us in helping to celebrate ALL OF THE GOOD that we have happening in our libraries with our students, teachers, administrators, and fellow media specialists?   

It is AWARDS AND SCHOLARSHIP SEASON!  We need your help!  OELMA wants to celebrate individuals who are creating and/or supporting library programs that allow students to create, design, develop, and grow as readers and thinkers.

Thank you to Susan Yutzey and Marie Sabol for helping co-chair this committee. Together, we would like to recognize some of the amazing learning opportunities occurring in Ohio by featuring those involved in supporting and creating library media centers that encourage students to thrive!  There are awards to recognize many types of contributors.  Find a list of the awards and scholarships available on the OELMA website under Awards and Scholarships. There, you will also find nomination forms and rubrics that will guide you through the nomination process.

Please watch the OELMA blog, listserv, Facebook page, and Twitter account for additional information.  Help us get the word out by sharing award information on your social media accounts.  All nominations are due by April 3rd.  

Take a look at the list below. Is there an OELMA member you know that should be recognized for his/her dedication to library programming that supports students’ love of reading, making, tinkering or computing?  Let’s celebrate our movers and shakers!  Fill out the nomination form today!

  • Emerging Leader Award
    • This Award honors members who demonstrate leadership potential and encourages members’ active participation in the Association.
  • OELMA-JLG Floyd Dickman Programming Award
    • This grant will be awarded to one school library in Ohio each year to help fund programs that inspire children to embrace the joy of reading.
  • Information Technology Innovation Award
    • The Information Technology Innovation Award recognizes school librarians who design, develop, and implement innovative uses of technology in instruction.
  • Intellectual Freedom Award
    • The Intellectual Freedom Award recognizes Ohio school librarians and/or other Ohio educators who demonstrate support for the American Library Association’s principles of intellectual freedom.
  • Leadership-in-Action Award
    • OELMA’s Leadership-in-Action Award recognizes an Ohio school librarian pursuing active leadership roles in local schools, in OELMA, and in national professional organizations (e.g. AASL, ALA).
  • Literacy Leader Award
    • This award honors community organizations supporting literacy that reinforces student learning.
  • OELMA/Follett School Solutions Outstanding School Librarian Award
    • This award recognizes a licensed Ohio school librarian, who develops an exemplary school library program, collaborates with classroom teachers, implements technology-integrated instruction, and advocates for school libraries.
  • Outstanding Administrator Award
    • This award recognizes an Ohio school administrator who has made significant contributions to the planning, implementation, and/or support of school library programs, resulting in improved program quality and increased student learning.
  • Outstanding Contributor Award
    • The honoree has demonstrated a long-term commitment to the school library profession while serving in OELMA leadership roles.
  • Outstanding School Library District Award
    • Honorees demonstrate a distinct culture that advocates for the integral role of the school library program in student achievement at the building and district level.
  • Outstanding Individual School Library Award
    • The Outstanding Individual School Library Award recognizes an exceptional building-level library program that is integrated across the total curriculum, thus meeting the diverse needs of all learners.
  • J. Allen Oakum Scholarship
    • The J. Allen Oakum Scholarship is awarded to an Ohio resident enrolled in an accredited library school program, who is pursuing licensure in school library/media.
  • The OELMA Scholarship
    • The OELMA Scholarship is awarded to an Ohio resident enrolled in an accredited library school program,  who’s pursuing licensure in school library/media.
  • Read On, Ohio! Award
    • The Read On, Ohio! Award is awarded to K-12 students who demonstrate an enthusiasm for reading and for sharing books, use books for a variety of purposes, read independently on a voluntary basis, and use the school library.